Jwala Gutta: I’m Hurt Over Not Getting Nominated For Padma Award

I Always Wondered…

image source/jwala gutta (facebook)
Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Doubles Badminton Specialist, Jwala Gutta, who articulated anger for not being given the Padma Award once again, took to her Facebook page on Wednesday and expressed her anguish over not getting nominated for Padma Awards which is India’s highest civilian award.

Here’s how she expressed her feelings over not getting Padma Award,

“I always wondered the concept of applying for particular award which is the most reputed awards in our country.. but then that’s what the procedure is.. so I did apply…applied cos it’s prestigious to have the award..cos I thought maybe I made the people of my country proud by my game and deserved it…I have been playing for this country for more than 15 years now..and have won so many prestigious tournaments. I thought maybe I should apply..but I guess it’s never enough..you need recommendations, recommendations that you deserve an award. You need to put in a word and get letters and the list goes on and on..but the question I still have is why do I have to apply for an award and also ask for a recommendation. Aren’t my credentials good enough? Well I am really curious about the whole system..My two consecutive medals, Delhi CWG gold and Glasgow silver is not enough, My World Championships medal is not enough, I was top 10 ranked in this women doubles and mixed doubles and my superseries performance and medals in Grand Prix gold is not enough..I’m 15 times NationaI champion and I am also the first Indian to qualify for two events in Olympics in Indian history, I’m the first Indian to win a medal after Prakash Padukone sir in world championships and so many other firsts.. I have laid a path for doubles in Badminton for our country when nobody took it seriously..but it’s simply isn’t enough..why cos I am outspoken? Cos I am opinionated? why is it that I am being denied of this particular award? Now I really don’t know should I be asking for this award…or I simply don’t deserve it. if this is not enough what is?”

In a brief look, Padma Awards can be defined as:

Padma Shri (also Padmashree) is the fourth highest civilian award in the Republic of India, after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan. Awarded by the Government of India, it is announced every year on India’s Republic Day.”

However, there are other sportspersons who have been awarded for country’s fourth-highest civilian honor including Cricket captain Virat Kohli, hockey captain PR Sreejesh, 2016 Olympic medallist wrestler Sakshi Malik, and para-athletes Deepa Malik and Mariyappan Thangavelu.

Related :  MS Dhoni Was Rescued From Fire In Dwarka Hotel

Gymnast sensation Dipa Karmakar, discus thrower Vikas Gowda and blind cricketer Shekhar Naik also have been awarded PadmaShree.

Jwala Gutta won the 2010 women’s double at the Commonwealth games along with a bronze in 2011 World Championships.

She’s India’s most successful doubles specialist and she was given Arjun Award in 2011 which is the second highest sporting award.

What do you think? We’d love to hear your views in the comment section.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Written by Vicky Saroha

Vicky Saroha

Enthusiastic, Sporty, Movie Geek, and a very efficient writer. He is our main contributor and writes about movie news, trailers, facts, games and celeb buzz. He is our main News Author and also writes in other categories. He has previously worked with StillCourage, avStates, and EntertainementWelt.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *